Ballet = 2011. Part 8

Ballet Inspires Vintage

It’s the final post for ballet week! I hope this week has been inspiring… please give me any feedback!

In a couple of days I’m off to Brighton to do some hunting/finding/gathering of some vintage treasures! This week has been much about sourcing inspiration for myself as it has been to share with you.. I just wanted to leave you with this fantastic film trailer from the movie ‘The Red Shoes’ (1948). It has ballet and vintage all tangled up in one! The story goes… A young ballet dancer is torn between the man she loves and her pursuit to become a prima ballerina. I absolutely love the narration; full of memories from old history lessons of World War Two videos! My favourite scene (starts at 1:24) is when Vicky’s lover, Julien, says ‘but you love that more’ followed by a strangely over dramatic sound effect. Made me giggle! You’ve gotta love old movies.

P.S. First video I’ve posted… go me!

Leave a Reply

